Thursday 22 June 2023

Works of Kamala Das

Kamala Das, also known as Kamala Surayya, was a prolific Indian poet and writer. She has written numerous works throughout her career, expressing her thoughts, emotions, and experiences with raw honesty and profound depth. Here is a list of some of Kamala Das's notable works:

Poetry Collections:

  1. Summer in Calcutta (1965)
  2. The Descendants (1967)
  3. The Old Playhouse and Other Poems (1973)
  4. The Anamalai Poems (1985)
  5. Only the Soul Knows How to Sing (1996)
  6. Yaa Allah (2001)
  7. Love Queen of Malabar: Memoir of a Friendship with Kamala Das by Merrily Weisbord (2012, posthumous)


  1. Alphabet of Lust (1977)
  2. Padmavati the Harlot and Other Stories (1992)
  3. My Story (1976) - Autobiography
  4. A Doll for the Child Prostitute (1977)
  5. My Mother at Sixty-six (1992) - Short Story

Essays and Non-fiction:

  1. Introduction to the Poetry of T. S. Eliot (1985)
  2. My Grandmother's House (1991)
  3. On Freedom and Being (2000)
  4. My Story, My Life: The Uncollected Stories (2008)


  1. Ente Katha (My Story) - English translation of her autobiography (1973)

Kamala Das's works, whether in poetry, prose, or essays, often revolve around themes of love, desire, sexuality, feminism, and the complexities of human relationships. Her writing is characterized by its boldness, introspection, and unabashed exploration of personal experiences, making her one of the most influential and celebrated voices in Indian literature.

No comments:

Post a Comment